Okay, drank barley. Thanks to a super commentor, I got a tip that many beers don’t actually contain wheat. Namely, the most awesome of all beer types, the IPA. Of course, barley is one of the things that make beers filled with gluten. And as all of us gluten-free types know — let’s all say it together — gluten is in wheat, rye, barley, and whatever the heck tricticale is. Sometimes oats. Sometimes just annoying people in line at the parking garage.
But I digress.
So here’s what I did. I had a Red Hook IPA. I know! Look at me.
Just one, and nothing seemed to happen. Does this mean I can tolerate barley? I would think the whole gluten thing would mean that I couldn’t. I mean, duh. While I drank that delicious beer and felt no ill effects, I did have a headache the next day that I attributed to a particularly stressful situation. It’s possible that nasty ass migraine could have been exacerbated by the barley I ingested the night before. Maybe. Which means, of course, that more research must be done!
While I am interested to see my reaction to barley, the fact is being able to ingest barley is not going to get me very far. After all, there are a ton of gluten-free beers on the market, some of them even passable. And I don’t need beer as part of my daily diet. You know, unlike donuts. So even if I can tolerate barley, well, I can’t see it being all that life changing. The wheat thing, yes. The barley thing, ummm, I guess then maybe I’d be able to go to a bar and order a normal non-wheat beer with abandon. But let’s be honest. I get out to bars only as often as they have Baby Love Disco parties planned. In fact, I’ve only once found myself in a bar that only served beer when I was in Austin visiting family. So.
The point is, wheat is really the end-all, be-all, gluten-filled grain that cramps my style. Rye and barley — eh. Who needs ’em, anyway? And tricticale? As soon as I figure out what that is, perhaps I’ll miss it.
Can you have barley, rye, and the big “t”?
Image via Dag Endersson/Flickr